Pastel coloured wedding dresses

I was at Brides: The Show last night, getting some more inspiration for my wedding (it’s October now, which means seven months to go!). I think these shows are generally for brides at an earlier stage of their planning, because lots of the stands are from companies who sell flowers, cakes, stationery, dresses and accessories, all of which I’ve pretty much sorted, but there was still an overwhelming amount to see.

Some of my highlights were the Jo Malone stand, where I learnt about fragrance mixing and choosing a wedding scent (more to come on this at a later date), and the jewellers. Because, yes, I’ve got the engagement ring, but we haven’t bought the wedding rings yet, so it was lovely to try a few on and get some ideas. I’ve made an appointment to go ring shopping next month!

I also had the privilege of watching the ‘Circus’ themed catwalk show, showcasing lots of beautiful bridal dresses. Mine’s on order already (no spoilers!) and I can’t wait to wear it, but I really loved seeing something different on the catwalk. I found the non-white dresses particularly striking. Not necessarily the vampy red, black and purple styles, though I’m sure they’d look amazing on some girls. But I love pastel colours, so really liked seeing pretty dresses in pale blues, pinks and yellows. So I thought I’d do a little round-up of pastel dresses (and a couple of patterned ones for good measure!)…

lb143a

This is ‘Lydia’ from Loulou Bridal, and below is ‘Nora’ from the same designer…

lb145b

I’ve tried on a couple of Loulou dresses, and they’re really beautiful, very girlie princess dresses that make you want to twirl! The soft pastel shades are great for brides that don’t want white, but who don’t want something totally out there! Even better, the brand is quite reasonable priced, at around the £1,000 mark for these styles.

untamed-love1

How beautiful is this ‘Untamed Love’ dress by Charlotte Balbier? It’s so striking, and I absolutely love a floral print. And, with the white background, there’s still that nod to tradition.

Peony-crop-700x1000.jpg

Before I started dress shopping, while I was still spending hours scouring the web for styles I liked, I fell in love with this ‘Peony’ dress by Alan Hannah. The flowers are hand painted, meaning each dress is unique.

1040-1-700x1000.jpg

This is the ‘1040’ from Rita Mae, another slightly more budget-friendly range I really like. I think the pale blue and jacquard fabric is beautiful.

kksh-fotv-look-15-maisie-front-683x1024

‘Maisie’ from Katya Katya Shehurina is a bubblegum ballerina of a dress, and I love it. Perfect for a summer wedding or a beach do, and for anyone who doesn’t want to be carrying round acres of fabric on their big day.

Poppy_03.jpg

This is ‘Poppy’ from House of Mooshki, and below is ‘Elle’ from the same designer…

MSS14007-006.jpg

Most of the House of Mooshki dresses are customisable in terms of length and colour, so you can choose from a range of styles in these pretty blush and duck egg shades.

SN_BlueRembrandt.jpg

This showstopping ‘Rembrandt’ dress by Suzanne Neville was one of the best I saw on the catwalk at the show yesterday. I mean, how amazing? It costs about £7,000, so one for the big-budget bride with a venue to match the dress!

Are you tempted by a dash of colour? Or sticking with white all the way?

Bethan x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

