Spring knits

Let’s not get too excited, but the sun is shining, the clocks go forward tonight, and I’ve just eaten lunch al fresco. Whisper it. This could be spring…

I love this time of year, when the days are getting longer, the weather’s that little bit less chilly and it feels like the whole summer is stretching out ahead of us, just touching distance away.

Now, not wishing to get ahead of myself, it’s definitely not time for the summer wardrobe. But little tweaks can be made. Loafers can be worn without socks. Thick wool coats can be swapped for leather jackets (most days, apart from the ones when you’ll need your cagoule). And I’m thinking about investing in some bright summer knits. Here are some of my favourites…

The Boden sale has some great little knits on offer…

17wspr_wv095_yel.jpg

Tilly cotton mix jumper in the mimosa colour, £40. I love the sunny shade of this one.

17wspr_wv144_ivo.jpg

Pavilion wool and cashmere cricket-style jumper, £63. I think this is super cool, and what could be more summery than cricket?

17wspr_wv140_mul.jpg

Cashmere crew neck in multi stripe, £91. Cashmere for warm on windy days; bright stripes to maintain that spring optimism. Also, cashmere under £100 – always a winner.

17wspr_wu081_red

Cara wool and cashmere cardigan in snapdragon, £40. Another beautiful colour. I’m imagining it with blocks of green, blue or pink on the bottom half for a super sunny colour pop.

I always love Uniqlo for staple knits, too.

goods_27_196564

Milano ribbed crew neck in orange, £29.90. The big sleeves are pretty cool and I can’t resist bright orange.

goods_40_181865

Cotton v-neck cardigan, £19.90. Uniqlo calls this cream, but it looks a lemony yellow online, so who knows what it’s like in real life. But either way, under £20 for a cotton staple is a steal, and whatever the colour, it’s a light, summery option and Uniqlo cotton knits are great quality and wash so well.

hmprod

Cherry cable knit, £17.99, H&M. The little cherry patch is super cute, and I can’t resist a bit of yellow.

hmprod (1).jpg

Cold shoulder knit, £24.99. The cold shoulder trend is going nowhere. Nor is the ruffles one. So why not combine both?

hmprod (2).jpg

Embroidered knit, £79.99. I’ve seen this in store and, frankly, it’s a stunner. If it was £40 cheaper I’d have snapped it up instantly, but I’ve wavered because £80 seems a lot for H&M. But it really is beautiful and a lot of work has gone into it. So I’m still mulling this one over…

Anyone else shopping for spring pieces yet?

Bethan x

Leave a Reply

